The genesis of policing in Sirmour dates back to pre independence when Sirmour was a princely state and the Police Department was under the charge of a Superintendent of Police who was directly responsible to the Raja. During the reign of Raja Shamsher Prakash, each police station was in charge of a Deputy Inspector, re-designated in 1934 as a Sub-Inspector. The total strength of the police force, which was only 129 in 1904 was increased to 206 in 1934. The department was administered by the Raja on the lines of the Punjab Police Act, the rules thereunder and the Punjab Police Code.

A unit of the Himachal Armed Police was established in the district on 08th November, 1962. Today this unit has fully evolved as 6th Indo Reserve Battalion (IRBn) stationed at Kolar. Amongst the several police stations of District Sirmour, Police Station Majra is the newest addition which has started functioning in 2017. Majra was an erstwhile Police Post which use to work as a major business center during the British era. During the pre-merger period there were sixty chowkidars in the villages who use to be imparted training in drill and musketry at state headquarters. Now the institution of Police Chowkidars has been placed under the charge of the Panchayat department. 

The earliest reference to jail management in Sirmour by Balgobind, is informative enough to deserve quotation, “In jail are confined prisoners undergoing short sentences as well as life prisoners. To improve the Jails and to introduce the Government Jails Manual in the state, His Highness called a young man named Balkishen Dass who had acquired consierable experience at the Delhi Central Jail. He introduced the forms and registers and profitable labour in the jail.” The spirit of reform introduced by Raja Shamsher Prakash continued to be pursued by his succesors and as a result by 1904, there was a jail at Nahan. Now the District Jail at Nahan has been delared as Central Model Jail since 01st April 1962. 

Ever since the formation of Himachal Pradesh, the police here had no special problems of law and order in the district. 



Superintendent of Police District Sirmour at Nahan Sh. Rohit Malpani , IPS (Ph: 01702-225002(O),01702-225001 (R), 98827-62624(M) & Email: sp-nah-hp@nic.in

Sub Division Police Station Police Post / Check Post
SDPO Rajgarh
Mrs. Meenakshi, HPS
(Ph: 94180-57012 )
PS Reckong Peo
SHO SI Raghubir Singh (Ph: 94186-98827 )
Landline: 01786-222210

PP Kalpa

I/C ASI Hakam Singh

Landline: 01786-226010

PP Pangi
PS Pooh
SI/SHO Om Prakash    (Ph.9418283077)Landline: 01785-232420

PP Yangthang 

I/C HC Sultan Singh

Ph. 8988210998)

CP Akpa
I/C HC Satish Kumar
(Ph: )94189-42104

CP Chango

HHC Mahender Singh


PS Moorang 

ASI Jeet Ram-II (Ph.94181-23376
Landline: 01785-252524

SDPO Bhavanagar
DySP Sh.Manoj Kumar, HPS
(Ph: )94180-03389
PS Tapri

ASI Narpat Ram
(Ph: 9418002011)

PS Bhavanagar
SHO SI Inder Singh
(Ph: 9418084510 )
Landline: 01786-263455
PP Nichar
Landline: 01786-204544
I/C SI Mahinder
(Ph: 94592-67666)
PP Katgaon
Landline: 01786-262352
I/C ASI Roshan Lal)
(Ph: 94183-01923)
PAB Choura
I/C ASI Jeet Ram
(Ph: 94187-39347)
PS Sangla
SHO SI Sh. Kuldeep Singh
(Ph: 94181-10032)
Landline: 01786-242617
PP Karcham

I/C ASI Puran Singh
Landline: 94187-32210

DIP sirmour Sh. Rohit Mrigpuri (Ph: 94184-80848)